“Don’t Leave Anything Left of Me to Burn” Days 337 – 340


“Just Another Story From A Broken Home” 337

I’ve been credited with wandering too far across the lines.
I’ve been accused of dreaming to big and getting nowhere.
I used to think that I could do anything, be anyone, get anything done.
Then this town crushed those dreams.
Then this town left me hanging by the seams.
There was nowhere left for me to go.

So I hit the road, hard
And reached for the sky.
So I hit the road, hard
And tried, tried again.
I kept on writing songs
Making friends
Making enemies too
Still beats living there
Silently dying on the inside.

I’ve been told that I’m wrong and that the world was right
I’ve been kept in a glass box for all to look at.
I used to think that I could count the stars if only I shut my eyes.
Then this world put me down and left me for dead.
Then the ones I thought were true came up false.
There was no one left to trust at all.

So I hit the road, hard
And reached for the sky
So I hit the road, hard
And tried, tried again.
I kept on writing songs
Making friends
Making enemies too
Still beats living there
Silently dying on the inside.

So what if I don’t make it where I want to go?
Beats living here and dying all alone.
So what if I don’t live up to your expectations
At least I tried to meet my own.
I had the courage to use my own two feet
I hit the ground running instead of falling to my knees.
Maybe if you had believed in me
Instead of cutting me down
We’d have a better memory.
But I’m here, and you’re there
I’m alive, and you live in despair.
Just another story from a broken home.

“Isn’t a Thing Left to Feel in the World” 338

I swear in time that I will fill the void
In the middle, in the spaces left
By the fading of the love you used to have.

For him, it was the end when he said goodbye.
For you, the end won’t be till the end of time
When the stars go out, and the oceans run dry.
For you, you won’t feel a thing
Till there isn’t a thing left to feel in the world.

I can try and make the promises that he failed to keep
But then I’d fall into the traps that he caught in his cheek.
I’ll get hit in the face by the failings before me.

For me, the end won’t be when I say goodbye,
Because for you, the end won’t be till the end of time
When the stars go out, and the oceans run dry.
For you, you won’t feel a thing
Till there isn’t a thing left to feel in the world.

So I’ll take the brunt of the anger,
I’ll take the punch to the face,
The kick to the groin.
The throbbing heartache in the back of your mind
Because you’ve been walked on
Because he didn’t have the decency to say, no.

For him, it was the end when he said goodbye.
For you, the end won’t be till the end of time
When the stars go out, and the oceans run dry.
For you, you won’t feel a thing
Till there isn’t a thing left to feel in the world.

For me, the end won’t be when I say goodbye
Because for me, I won’t feel a thing
Till there isn’t a thing left to feel in the world.

“Don’t Leave Anything Left of Me to Burn” 339

You’ve had no problem with walking out the door before.
You’ve stepped out on my life a thousand times you know.

Maybe you think you can make it better
By stomping all over my heart.
Breaking apart the pieces
That you didn’t crush last time.
I think you won’t be done
Till there’s nothing left of me to destroy.
Maybe you think you can make it better
By not leaving anything left to burn.

You’ve had no problem with walking out the door before.
You’ve had no problem with running away with every piece of me.
You’ve had no problem with walking out the door before;
So what’s different about this time?

Maybe you think you can make it better
By stomping all over my heart.
Breaking apart the pieces
That you didn’t crush last time
I think you won’t be done
Till there’s nothing left of me to destroy.
Maybe you think you can make it better
By not leaving anything left to burn.

Take the pistol
Pull the trigger
Take away what’s left.
Of me,
There won’t be anything
When you’re done with me.

Maybe you think you can make it better
By stomping all over my heart.
Breaking apart the pieces
That you didn’t crush last time
I think you won’t be done
Till there’s nothing left of me to destroy
Maybe you think you can make it better
By not leaving anything left to burn.

(Don’t leave anything left of me to burn.)

“Time Can’t Heal Everything (But it Will, And it Will, And it Did)” 340

I couldn’t imagine a brighter time
Without you in my life.
Then it all came crashing down.
Then everything fell so far away from me.
I told myself,
“Time heals all wounds.”
But there are people wiser than me
Who have come and said before
“Time can’t heal everything.”

So why did you walk away this time
Turning away without a goodbye.
I’m crazy for you, you know I am.
But, it’s almost as if you never cared.
For me, this just hurts.
For you, I don’t know
You left without even a note.

I couldn’t imagine a brighter time
Without you in my life.
Then it all came crashing down
I told myself then,
“Time can’t heal everything.”

I couldn’t keep lying to myself this time.
I couldn’t hide behind the regret this round.
I had to get up off the ground,
Wipe off the dirt, clean out the cuts
Put ice on those bruises and fight.
No matter the ending.

I couldn’t imagine a brighter time
Without you in my life,
Then it all came crashing down.
I told myself then,
“time can’t heal everything.”

But it will
And it will
And it did

And now I’ll be just fine
With you out of my life
And now I’ll be just fine
With you out of my life
And I’ll grow old
And I’ll forget the name
I’ll forget you.
And I’ll be just fine.

Leave a Reply

