“I’ve Got To Save My Son” – Day 277



We woke up, at 3 am;
Thin veils hide sleep from eyes
Filled with crusty sights.
I told you girl,
“Tell me how the story ends.
Let’s not pretend like you don’t know.
I see it in your eyes, you’ve seen snow
Falling from the sky,
Landing on our skin
I’m sure we’ll be numb
But we’ve got to work this out.”
And you shivered in my arms,
Put your lips in a little pout,
Then set your eyes on mine
And said;
“Boy, you’ve got to understand.
Boy you’ve got to know;
That things aren’t going to be easy.
With bombs going off across the sea
And as long as we are a free nation
We’ll never be free;
Because as long as we’re free
We’ve got to be fighting
And as long as we’re fighting
We’ve got to be dying
And as long as we’re dying
We’ll never be free.”
You stood up walked across the floor
Stepped out onto the window sill
You’re legs, they hung, from the window, still.
I see it now, I saw it before,
That halo sitting upon your brow.
That little scowl you make when something’s fowl.
I see it now.
So I stood up too and crossed the room
And placed my fingers on your arm.
My shallow bones, that know yours well.
You reached for my hand and squeezed.
“Boy, you’ve got to know,
That life will be hard.
We’ve got no rights and we’ve got no wrongs.
We’ve just got to survive.
No matter what is right,
And what is wrong.
Human life is most important;
And if we had a child I’d let you go.
If I had to save my son.”
It hit me like a wrecking ball,
Like a .45 straight to my skull.
I wanted to push, I wanted to pull
The dagger out from my chest.
I see it now, I saw it before
Those horns sitting above your brow
That little scowl you make when something’s fowl.
I see it now.
“Girl, I think you don’t realize
That I’m exactly that once in a lifetime prize;
I understand family, and I understand love.
I understand honor, and I understand why.
No matter what is right
And what is wrong.
Human life is most important;
And if we had a child, I’d let you go.
If I had to save my son,
But that doesn’t mean I won’t regret it.
Every single moment, of every single day
From now until God’s hair turns grey
And he shrivels up and dies I’ll remember.
What it meant to be in love.
What it meant to have you.
But I’ve got to save my son.”

Leave a Reply

