Day 63: Part 2 “We’ll Make it Through the Night”


September

Hello,
Are you still searching
For the truth inside your head?
Trying to find it before you lay in bed?
Each and every night
A fire burns inside.
So I try to stand up tall,
But I keep losing the fight.

Hello,
Have you noticed where I am.
Standing alone in the sands,
On the sidelines of fate.
Here I am, I’m going on alone.
I’ll try to find my own way.
Losing myself to memory.
Losing sight of what is my own.

You’re so helpful,
You’re so kind.
Can you help me through the night?
You’re so helpful,
You’re so kind.
Can you help me through the night?

In response to your pleas;
I must digress,
Just for awhile.
I must explain my state of mind.
You see,
I was alone inside my head for so long.
I only really know how to help myself along.
I’ve been a recluse,
Stuck here in reverse.
Sometimes I feel I’m regressing.
And I’m not man enough to take the lead.
I can’t really tell you what I mean.

But baby.
You’re so helpful,
You’re so kind.
Can you guide me through the night?

I can’t guide you through the night.

But baby.
You’re so helpful,
you’re so kind.

I can’t take the lead.
I don’t know how,
But I can promise to try and walk beside,
Because masculinity is a deadly disease.
when not balanced with femininity.
So I’ve been broken down
To two separate souls,
And I need your help
As much as you say you need mine.
I need a woman to teach me to be a man

I need a man to show me how to be a woman.

Baby,
You’re so helpful
You’re so kind.
Can you guide me through the night?


I can’t lead the way,
But I’ll take your hand.
We can walk through the night together.

Baby,
You’re so helpful,
You’re so kind.

I know we’ll make it through the night.

I know we’ll make it through the night.

A man and a woman holding hands

Image via Wikipedia

Comments
2 Responses to “Day 63: Part 2 “We’ll Make it Through the Night””
  1. WOW! I love this one, Devin. You are so creative, so full of life, exploring the questions and the answers. Keep at it, young man. Your writing is AWESOME.

    • Devin says:

      Thanks so much Pam, this is one of my favorite poems I’ve ever written. I’ve written two more parts to it. It’s almost an emotional autobiography. It’s very dear to me. 🙂 I once again greatly appreciate you coming by and placing your input. It’s so great :).

      Imma keep on chuggin.

Leave a Reply

