Day 31, (1 Month Mark)


August

Note:Hello everyone, today marks the end of the first month of my 365 Days project! It’s been an interesting month, I began my Senior year in High School, I’ve been with an amazing woman for 11 months, and I’ve learned some things about the world and myself. It’s great to look back and see all the poetry I’ve written over the last month. Some of it good, some of it horrible, and some of it I can hardly even look at without gagging. But that’s what you get for pushing forward and forcing yourself to write even when the voice in the back of your head is screaming, “No Devin, STOP this shit is terrible! I’m going to vomit now… kthnxbai.” It’s just a breathtaking experience and I’m glad that you are following along on this journey. So here’s the 31st day’s poem.

squared circles - Clocks

Image by Leo Reynolds via Flickr

Love and Godspeed –
Devin Mitchell Durbin

“Night”

Can’t seem to get it right,
Falls apart, flies out of sight.
Death Decay
Seven Days
Every night just another fight.
I’ll die again tomorrow night.

Thanks again for all of your support. Tomorrow begins my second month of working on the project. September’s coming up and I’m getting really close to having the first section of my notebook filled up! That means I’m getting closed to finishing part 1 of 365 Days Past July. Well enjoy your evening bloggonites, until tomorrow (or maybe sometime this weekend or monday) take it easy. Sionarah!

Comments
7 Responses to “Day 31, (1 Month Mark)”
  1. Dylan Blanford says:

    Hey, so far so good. Keep up the good work and have fun doing it. 🙂

  2. You prefaced about some of it being dreadful, but if this is any indicator of the rest (which I will be promptly reading through) then I will have to contest your judgment.

    Keep writing, love.

    BR.

    • Devin says:

      Thanks so much for coming on by and gracing this page with your presence. I’m glad you could make it. I may be a bit critical of my own work, I think at times I have high expectations and keep pushing my limits, which is probably why I feel like some of it is atrocious. That aside, I will most definatly keep pushing forward, and there will be more posted tonight!

      Thanks again,

      Devin Mitchell

  3. Dylan Blanford says:

    Well I’m here and there isn’t one lol jk. Hope you don’t stop anytime soon. Anyway have a good weekend I’ll be gone most of it. 🙂

  4. Wow, this is a moving poem about the hard times many of us have experienced and can relate to. Maybe at some point you can categorize your poems by subject and make add them to the blog in groups. Maybe someone will happen along and you’ll be publishing a book!

    • Devin says:

      As soon as the first part in my notebook is finished (I’m getting rather close) I’m planning on spending a night going through the posts at least to make it a little bit easier to find them, I plan on having a page with a summary of each post and an excerpt of each poem. It’ll be a work in progress, I just wanted to have a good month or two’s worth of posts before I really put in the work so I could actually see what I have to work with. I really hope I can get it to where I can p0st each days poem in a separate post but when they build up I admit to myself it’s best to put them in one post than work one by one, because then some of the newer poems may get lost in the fray!

      Thanks for reading Pam, It’s always a pleasure to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

